Happily Ever After

All this time I’ve been thinking
I was already written; every chapter told
Until you came along, now my story begins to unfold

Just as the dark ink is pressed upon the page
You thumb through my thoughts your passion set the stage
For you I’ve become a study in the arts of classical
For me your enchanting curiosity is completely magical

A vocabulary of words I never imagined or knew
Has now become the language of our private Xanadu
Each chapter of me you race through to read
Satisfying carnal desires of our human need

Despite the tales of sadness, grief, even heartbreak
You anxiously read on as my life’s journey you take
Bookmarking emotion in corners of pages you gently crease
Handling my contents with loving care so I may feel peace
My story is not a new New York Times list best seller
Yet you give me rave reviews which make it sound stellar
And all the chapters of me I thought were the end
It turns out they only preface where our story begins
Continuously we read each other by candlelight
Illuminating the darkness as we drift into the night to
Blissfully awaken to our beautiful new chapter
For your love has now written my happily ever after

© 2011
Cheryl D. Faison
Le Sublime Poétesse

all art may be found here by the artist C. Simonian
http://www.artistrising.com/shop/artist/16210/Christian-Simonian.htm

~ by Le Sublime Poétesse on November 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
