Africa in Me

Never have I been there still she is my true home

The feeling of the deepest kinship of my royal blood and bone

In my distant dreams each night Her sweet fragrance I do long

Crying out for Her deliverance in my loudest silent moan

Cosmic as the atmosphere of the celestial moon to star

We are clustered together no longer do miles seem so far

I sense Her profound sadness, loneliness, fear of Her lost

A yearning deepens inside me to repair Her woes

No matter the compromise or the incalcuble cost

Her land is dry devoid of precious living water

A fledgling civilization has given way to falter

The trampling of Her people by every crooked thief

Fills the loving hearts of mothers with such agonizing grief

Her innocent children lay starving feeling no hope or zeal

Desperately helpless fathers petition God for His merciful will

Soon my heart is laden heavy with my minds thoughts uncertain

I do not understand why Motherland continues in sorrowful burden

Yet never have I been there it is only the story I do see

Still my heart is broken for the homeland it is the Africa in me.

 

© 2011

Cheryl D. Faison

Le Sublime Poétesse

 

~ by Le Sublime Poétesse on August 12, 2011.

4 Responses to “Africa in Me”

  1. I am floored by your writing!!!!
    This is POWERFUL!!!!!

    • OH my…I wasn’t expecting that…it’s always so BIG and Humbling to have your feedback Katrina.
      It just comes from the heart…thank you so much for your continued support.

  2. Always!

  3. I definitely have to agree…this is a powerful piece. It says so much for the feeling of the “Homeland”.

Leave a Reply

 
