Inside the Darkness

Again I am in my darkest, loneliest place.

Banging my head constantly, clawing my face.

I’ll pretend it’s a tunnel so I can plot my escape.

I don’t understand how I fell in again.

I’ve diligently worked so hard

Protecting myself with good thoughts

Not allowing the bad thoughts in.

Yet The Darkness

He creeps up like a shadow

Facetiously he poses as my muse.

The next thing I know

He steals away my peace

Relishing in my daze as

I become utterly confused.

He makes sure no one can see me

Nor my despair they even hear.

Darkness cleverly saturates

My true voice

He eagerly replaces truth with petrifying fear.

Yet oddly enough never have I heard

The desperate pleas of the

Inner haunting voice

My clever madness doesn’t concoct

a hidden dire face.

Perhaps such delusion would make

Me feel normal in this darkest place.

Momentarily insanity is my companion.

Fear is my only friend while I languish in

The loneliest darkness again

Still I will keep pretending it’s a tunnel.

Praying while I devise my victorious escape

Miraculously back into love’s light

in the happier peaceful place.

 

© 2011

Cheryl D. Faison

Le Sublime Poétesse

 

~ by Le Sublime Poétesse on June 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
